N C

Natalie Cree

Pharmacology graduate looking for entry-level job.

25 years • Nottingham

Summary

I am a life science graduate from the University of Cambridge with a good understanding of the drug development process. I aim to establish a career in clinical trials within the pharma/biotech industry.

Skills

time managementAdaptabilityVerbal CommunicationWritten CommunicationTeam WorkOrganisationAttention To Detail

Experience

Intern

01-2017 - 06-2017 Personal servicesEcce Medical is a start-up company developing an online course for a specialist audience of trainee spine surgeons. My role as an intern mainly involved editing the educational scientific content - consisting of around 180 lectures - to ensure it was of a high enough quality to be incorporated into the course. I have also been involved in the development process of the online platform that hosts the course as a tester, carrying out user acceptance testing on a range of browsers and devices and writing bug reports. In addition, I was responsible for other administrative tasks such as contacting academic publishers to obtain permission for use of their articles, and being a point of contact for the expert lecturers who are providing the educational content. For this job I made use of Microsoft Excel spreadsheets to organise my workload and keep records of the status of the content in the course.

Data Analyst

10-2016 - 12-2016 HR / TrainingCamfed is a charity, whose headquarters are based in Cambridge, which works to improve education opportunities for girls in Africa. I was recruited, along with three other data analysts, to analyse the results of a large-scale endline survey in order to assess the effectiveness of the charity's interventions over the previous 4 years. This analysis was to be included in a report for the Department of International Development after they provided a grant for the charity, and it was also done in order to aid in decision making processes for the charity in the future. My task was to analyse and summarise the large amount of data which was in the form of questionnaire responses. I used the output from the statistical package SPSS in Microsoft Excel to generate graphs, and then used Microsoft PowerPoint to clearly display and write a short analysis of the results. In my role I worked well with the other data analysts, collaborating with them to share ideas and to proofread each other's work. I also worked as part of the larger Impact team whose objectives directed the work I produced.

Waitress

07-2014 - 12-2016 Chemistry / Biology / AgronomyI worked behind the bar and as a waitress, communicating with and accommodating a wide range of customers. I worked well within the team of staff to deal with busy periods, and to complete tasks such as making sure the pub was always clean and tidy. This job involved using problem solving skills, thinking on my feet and multitasking to keep on top of my responsibilities, such as maintaining stock levels in the bar and dealing with complaints. This job also allowed me to exercise my ability to remain calm in stressful situations.

Education & training

University of Cambridge

2013 - 2016 Cambridge, CambridgeshireChemistry / Biology / Agronomy

My qualities

Independent
Team player
Curious
Rigorous

Non-Work Related Experience

Science demonstrator, biology coordinator and evaluation officer

Cambridge Hands On Science
07-2014 - 04-2017

Cambridge Hands On Science (CHaOS) is a student-run science outreach organisation based at Cambridge University, which runs science outreach events in schools and at public events around the country. I regularly volunteered with CHaOS as a science demonstrator. This involved demonstrating a science-based activity, demonstration or experiment to small groups of school children (aged between 8-14) or families. Doing this allowed me to develop my verbal communication skills, explaining complex ideas to a non-technical audience. I also developed my problem solving skills and ability to think on my feet by adapting my activity or explanation of it according to the knowledge level of the audience. I spent the 2015/16 academic year on the committee as evaluation officer and biology coordinator. My roles on the committee involved maintaining the equipment and supplies, and checking the risk assessments for, the biology experiments. I also wrote questionnaires and collated and analysed the feedback from visitors to the events. In addition I led a team of student demonstrators at several events and conducted venue safety risk assessments for these events.